Time

Author(s): Stephen Baxter

Science Fiction

In the millennium's last great sf novel, Stephen Baxter takes us a short step byond Y2K. The year is 2010. We have survived ! so far. Cornelius Taine of Eschatology, Inc., mathematical genius, predicts that in just 200 years our species will be wiped out. Even evacuation from Earth will not save us from extinction. Reid Malenfant, entrepreneur, has Big Dumb Boosters ready to fly from the California desert, to be piloted by an enhanced squid named Sheena 5. When Taine offers Malenfant the ultimate dream of saving the species, Sheena's mission is diverted to investigate Earth's recently discovered -- and very remote -- second moon. What Sheena 5 discovers there is nothing less than a revelation: the secret reason for our existence visible at last beneath the rippled surface of Time's river. Malenfant and Taine must follow Sheena! but they are pursued by an enraged US Air and Space Force, and a mighty battle in space may cut short their hopes for the ultimate transformation of mankind.

$8.50(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

In the millennium's last great sf novel, Stephen Baxter takes us a short step byond Y2K. The year is 2010. We have survived ! so far. / First in a big new series of three thematically linked books

'Pacy, visionary, extravagantly imagined, Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. How reassuring to know that while so many authors are lying in the gutter of the information superhighway, someone at least is still looking at the stars' The Times 'Time is a big ambitious book! science fiction at its best' FHM 'In Time Baxter manages to take the most esoteric cosmological ideas and mesh them into a fast-paced novel! Probably the most thought-provoking writing you'll read this year, it's time for Baxter to take his place alongside Asimov and Heinlein' Edge

Stephen Baxter applied to become an astronaut in 1991. He didn't make it, but achieved the next best thing by becoming a science fiction writer, and his novels and short stories have been published and have won awards around the world. His science background is in maths and engineering. He is married and lives in Buckinghamshire.

General Fields

  • : 9780006511823
  • : HarperCollins Publishers
  • : Voyager
  • : 0.247
  • : July 2000
  • : 178mm X 111mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Stephen Baxter
  • : Paperback
  • : 823.914
  • : From 6 To 8
  • : 464
  • : colour illustrations